Banana Apple Bread

What better way to use up old bananas then to make banana bread.  I also had some apple filling left over from another recipe and added that to the batter for a great combination.  There wasn’t a ton of apple flavor but it sure made for a moist bread!

I know most people know this but for those who don’t, I put my black bananas in the freezer until I’m ready to bake with them.  I also decided instead of your standard loaf pan, I would use a bundt pan…just to be different.  The only problem was I added a sugar and cinnamon crumble on top before baking and forgot the top was actually going to be the bottom….but you know what…it still was great, the added flavor was just on the bottom instead of the top.  I wouldn’t hesitate to do it again!

  • 4 very ripe banana’s
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter – softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 350 deg. grease loaf or bundt pan. In a large bowl mash your bananas with the sugar. beat in your eggs and vanilla.  Mix in your flour, baking soda and salt until well blended.  Stir in your chopped apple filling.  You can also add nuts if you want.

I then mixed 1 tablespoon soft butter with 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tblsp flour and 2 tsp. cinnamon.  Mix well and crumble on top of your bread.

Bake for about an hour. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

