Appetizer’s Anyone?

I made 2 appetizers this year for Thanksgiving day and I think they were pretty much winners!  A few things I might do a little different, but then again when I cook I am always adding and tweaking my recipes.

This first appetizer is very easy and pretty fast:  Fried avocado’s

  1. I first slice avocados into slices.  Salt, pepper and garlic powder both sides and a little cayenne powder if you want a little kick.  I didn’t do this the first time I made them but next time I will for added flavor.
  2. In one bowl I whisked 2 eggs and a little lemon juice
  3. In a second bowl I mixed Panko Bread Crumbs with salt, pepper and cumin
  4. Dip each avocado in the Panko, then egg mixture and back to the Panko.  Fry in heated oil until brown. Sprinkle salt and pepper over them while still hot.  Drain on a paper towel.

I served this with a mixture of mayonnaise and finely chopped cilantro for dipping.  Next time I think I’ll substitute the mayo with sour cream and add a little hot sauce.  Also Salsa would be good to dip them in!

My second appetizer was Crab Stuffed Mushrooms:

 First remove the mushroom steams and the insides until you have a little bowl.  Reserve the stems for the stuffing.  I made 16 mushrooms here.  I had enough stuffing for a lot more but ran out of mushrooms, so buy extra just in case.  Place in a baking dish and set aside.

Stuffing:

  • 2 tablespoons of butter and olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • Mushroom stems finely chopped
  • Parsley and Thyme (you can use fresh italian parsley and fresh thyme or dried)
  • about a cup of chopped crab meat (this really depends on how much you love crab)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs (Make this Gluten free and make your own out of gluten-free bread)
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese

In a pan melt your butter and oil, add the onions, garlic, mushroom stems and parsley and Thyme. Saute until onions are cooked.  Add the crab and bread crumbs.  Mix well.

Fill your mushrooms heaping tall.  Grate parmesan cheese on top.  I poured a little water in the bottom of the baking dish to keep mushrooms moist. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Option:  Add chopped bacon in your stuffing or sprinkle on top with the cheese before baking.  I haven’t tried this but what doesn’t taste good with bacon!  Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. Tonight my husband’s boss is coming to dinner. I will be making my husband’s favorite, flautas using shredded chicken from you crock pot chicken recipe. I know it will be a winner but was looking for something extra. Thanks for shaing your recipe for fried avocados. This will be the perfect appetiser. Now, tonight’s menu is complete.
    Fried Avacado with Chipotle Ranch Sauce
    Chicken Flautas with Pico de Gallo
    Spanish Rice cooked with corn and peas
    Refried Beans
    Flan for dessert

Leave a Reply

