Cabbage Roll Casserole

I love cabbage rolls, but don’t always have the time to roll as many as I can eat.  So why not make a layered casserole like lasagna.  This was my first attempt and the flavor and texture was perfect.  The only change I would make is I would have liked more cabbage.  Next time I make this I will shred the cabbage giving each layer a little more cabbage and making it easier to eat after it’s cooked.

Meat filling:

  • 1 1/2  lb. ground beef
  • 4 minced garlic cloves
  • 1/4 onion grated
  • 1/2 cup uncooked white rice
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons all spice
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper

In a saute pan brown your ground beef.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Bring to a boil and than cover and simmer on low for about 30 minutes

Sauce:

In a pot heat 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and 1 14.5 can of tomato sauce with 2 large whole garlic cloves. Simmer while your meat filling is cooking.

In a large casserole dish begin layering.  Start with your sauce.  Then a layer of cabbage.  Be sure to cut the core out of the middle. (as I said earlier I would have shredded the cabbage at this point.  Use about 1/3 of it.  The next layer is meat, then cabbage then sauce.

End with cabbage and top with remaining sauce.  The 2 large garlic cloves that was in the sauce I took out, sliced and placed on top while cooking.

Cover with foil and cook at 400 degrees for 40 minutes.  Let sit for about 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

