Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta with Avocado Alfredo Sauce

I make Chicken with Alfredo Sauce all the time.  I recently have been adding ricotta cheese to my sauce to make it creamier and richer.  This time I thought why not add an avocado, because what doesn’t taste good without an avocado!!!

I have used different pasta’s for this dish, pretty much what ever I have on hand……Penne, bow tie, rigatoni.  I really like the bow tie the best, I think the sauce tends to stay on it better.

  • Chicken (about 4 breasts)
  • 2 to 3 garlic cloves minced
  • pasta (your preference) I use about half of a 14 ounce box

For Sauce:

  • Parmesan cheese (about a cup)
  • ricotta cheese (one big spoon full)
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • about 4 tablespoons of flour
  • 1/2 cube butter
  • 2 cups milk
  • garlic powder
  • parsley flakes
  • kosher salt and fresh ground pepper

Start off with cutting up your chicken.  You can use breasts or thighs, which ever you have or like.  For 2 to 3 people I cut up about 4 chicken breasts.  Saute it in a pan with a little olive oil and minced garlic.  After chicken is cooked.  Remove from the pan and set aside.

Using the same pan melt your butter and add the flour.  Stir on low until butter is melted and you have a creamy thick paste (this is called a roux).  Add your milk.  Keep stirring until your milk is warm.  Add your Parmesan and ricotta cheese.  This is where you can adjust how much cheese.  I keep adding until I get a nice creamy consistency.  Add garlic powder, parsley flakes and salt and pepper. I pretty much add a few shakes of each.  Sorry I’m not a cook that measures and you really don’t have to be exact, I go by looks and taste!!

I then take the avocado and mash it up a bit in a bowl before adding it to the sauce.   Stir with a wire whisk, this should incorporate everything together.

Add your chicken to the sauce. Keep on warm until your pasta is ready.

Cook your pasta and drain.  TIP:  When boiling your noodles, lay a wooden spoon across your pan, this will prevent the water from boiling over.

Add the pasta to your chicken and cheese sauce and top with more parmesan cheese and chopped fresh basil.

For a side vegetable I roasted Yellow and green zucchini with onions.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

